Guild of Blades Publishing Group
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction



Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Reviews
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Monarchies of Mau Early Access
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 23:22:43

I really love what they have done with the 5th ed rules. it seems they trimmed all the outdated stuff that somehow stayed in D&D, and added in some great story friendly rules ( like drop the useless alighnments, and replace it with personality traits, which you actually get rewarded for roleplayimg them).

The magic system makes so much more sense with how they use spell sots (it is pretty much magic points by another name). They use a reward system similar to insparation, but has more uses. There are several othere streamline rules that makes the game a better version of 5th ed (IMHO).

just like Pugmire, I am very fasinated with the post-appocolypic fantasy setting, where animals have evolved after mankind had vanished.

it does not have pre-gens (character creation is really easy tho) or an adventure, but for $2 this game is a total steal!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monarchies of Mau Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Mummy: The Curse
by Egor M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 03:34:09

This is one of the few roleplaying books that left its mark on my soul. While I admit the game has its flaws (the trivial relic-hunting being one of them), it is quite unique in its glorification of personal history, hopes and thoughts of every particular character. Meanwhile, I strongly recommend buing this book with the Sothis Ascends and Guildhalls of the Deathless. The former is and rich and deep cultural research that tells a lot about several eras in human history (also Sothis Ascends shows how to run chronicles stretching from ancient times to near future with the same characters) and the latter is a detailed portrait of mummy organizations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mummy: The Curse
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

M20 Book of Secrets
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2017 16:44:53

I found it an invaluable book for creating characters for Mage the Ascension. So much about Mage is making unique characters, and this gives you plenty of tools to make a Mage character your way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 Book of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2017 07:53:30

After buying Lore of the Clans I was really excited to hear about Lore of the Bloodlines, and eagerly bought it as soon as it became available. I was a tiny bit disappointed in what I got. There is plenty of good stuff within the book, however a in a couple of clans it feels like the writers decided to play it safe. The writing quality is not always as good as it could be (There was one line that stands out..."I wish I were strong, like a brujah" or something like that which wasn't great) and the layout of chapters are inconsistent. However It does explore 9 bloodlinescovering information I had never seen before, and reading the book gave me numerous story ideas. I did a full review breaking down all the aspects of this book that are noteworthy on https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/04/27/v20-lore-of-the-bloodlines-review/

I am glad I bought it, and the price was reasonable. I just feel it is one of the weaker source books I have read.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

M20 How Do You DO That?
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2017 18:22:00

I found this book helpful . The quality it excalent. I found the formate easy to use and clear.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 How Do You DO That?
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Lucus P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2017 20:10:02

There's too much to say about how excellent this is -- but it can all be culminated in a simple "This is the BEST version of Mage." -- any other discussion is just trying to convince you to be "into" the game -- but if you already know you are, then this is the best version to own. If you don't know if you're into Mage -- the fact that you're thinking about it, shows you should be, and thus you should have the best version, and this is it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

V20 Dark Ages Companion
by Justin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2017 13:47:22

I was hoping for more Salubri content, which would make me rate this book as a 3 or 4 star. However, the book in its entirety is excellent, so in fairness I must give it 5 stars.

I am opening a discussion if I am able regarding the matter of Xmas in July containing this product only two months after the initial PDF release and only 10 days after the finalized version and print version were released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

V20 Ready Made Characters
by stephane B. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 16:06:20

Wasn't going to grab this. But it was 5$, it was Written by Matthew.... got me interested. I purchased it and got very surprised.

I love the various characters, but also the "plot hooks" that are also thrown in there. Sometime they are enough to make a full story or side story.

Well worth the investment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

V20 Dark Ages Companion
by stephane B. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 16:01:17

So, this book is everything i've been wanting from a Dark Ages Companion.

It goes into a lot of details about the setting, the cities it talks about, introduces a lot of flavor and insight into the Unlife of the kindreds of these eras.

I also loved the Apocryphas of Clan. I've always had a bit of a problem to "fluff" my storytelling and this books gives a lot of content for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

V20 Ready Made Characters
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 05:11:46

I initially wasn't going to pick this one up. My regular group and I don't generally run pre made characters, so I questioned whether or not I would find this one useful. Ultimately though, the PDF was inexpensive, and I've consistently enjoyed Mr. Dawkins' work, so I decided to take a gamble and see if I might find something to use. I'm glad I did.

This book does a great job of representing each clan, but not in such a way that it feels like the same Clan stereotypes we've all seen before. The characters are unique enough to not only bring something worthwhile to a campaign, but I found there to be enough creativity behind them that, even if I didn't opt to use a particular character, they gave me inspiration to start thinking about different ways and angles from which certain clan members might be presented.

All in all, this is a solid resource for anyone who needs interesting characters to populate their world with, as well as anyone who just wants easy access to some creative inspiration for building their own. Having never considered buying a book of pre-made characters before, I was pleasantly surprised, and would absolutely recommend this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 04:55:33

I have been anticipating this book for some time, and I was not disappointed. It provides in-depth write-ups on a number of the Bloodlines, along with new merits, combination disciplines, and other goodies. I personally enjoyed the Kiasyd and Samedi write ups the most, but I felt like they all brought something worthwhile to the table. For some it is largely a restatement and consolidation of things we've seen before, which is not necessarily a bad thing given the at times murky and contradictory backstories of some of the bloodlines, but for others it brings forth a number of new angles and possibilities to explore.

This is one of those books for which the descriptor should tell you whether or not you'll enjoy it. If you've read V20 and still aren't a big fan of the Bloodlines in general, while the writing, art, and greater insights might be enough to convert you, it's very possible there isn't much for you here. However, if the idea of this book sounds like something you would enjoy, then you will very likely be pleased.

This is a well-made book that delivers exactly what it promises, and it does it well. Probably my favorite v20 book so far, apart from the core.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

V20 Dark Ages Companion
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 04:37:37

Something that I've always found intimidating about the Dark Ages setting is the idea of doing the setting proper justice. While I enjoy history and geography, I am not a history buff, and so there is the ever-present worry of things degenerating into "Merry Olde England, D&D with vampires". As such, I find books like this to be excellent primers and GM tools, and this one in particular does its job very well.

This book is an excellent world building resource, along with an interesting read in general. It offers a wide variety of locations and insight into each, including areas which, to the best of my knowledge, the World of Darkness has never touched on before.

If you're looking to run a globe-trotting game, a game of international/interdomain politics, or simply want greater insight into what different areas of the setting are like so as to mix things up, this companion should prove to be a very useful purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Chronicles of Darkness: Dark Eras Companion
by Vicknesh S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 02:24:18

Got this from my backing of the original Dark Eras. Plenty of additional ideas for the various splats that I'm incorporating into my current game. I especially liked "The Master's Tool (1917)" as I am running an introductory session for newcomers and the World War 1 gave me plenty of ideas to utilize. I'm looking forward to the Dark Eras 2 when it is released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Darkness: Dark Eras Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2017 14:33:27

I love it! i find it to be an interesting game that I can run for my kids or I can run it for my adult gaming group. I love the idea of the setting after man has left. There is more here that it seems at first look. Take a moment and lose your self in this game, I promise you, you will not regret it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Thousand Years of Night
by Morten L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2017 07:44:12

This book really is everything it claims to be. And it does it perfectly. I have been waiting for this book for years. It just shines in how it deals with the eternal nocturnal life from a story and personal perspective more than from a crunch perspective, which was the case in books on elder vampires in Vampire: the Masquerade. I can't wait to get my hands on a physical copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thousand Years of Night
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 794 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG