Guild of Blades Publishing Group
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Exalted 3rd Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2018 10:45:40

A dead game. Or rather, an insulting monument to one that they rolled out to profit off of those of us who remember it. This isn't me bagging on the edition. Some things they improved, others they messed up. Hard. (ahemCRAFTahem) This is me bagging on how this game is basically done and dead until they can scrape together the talent to Kickstart a 4th edition. Not that anyone would back it after this debacle. Yeah, they've been trickling out a more robust beastiary (that should have been included to begin with and probably got cut due to page count restrictions), and we'll probably eventually even see the 2 or 3 other books that got written along with the core years back. Eventually. The work's already done, why not profit from it? But make no mistake, the Exalted line is not a going concern for Onyx Path, just a cash cow. Accordingly, I will be boycotting their other products until they get their act together on this one. Which is to say, indefinitely. It's not like roleplaying hasn't moved on while they were sitting around, taking too long to do the same old thing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

C20 Ready Made Characters
by Andrzej S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2018 13:31:50

I felt like I was reading a caricature of some social justice RPG made by /pol/. But the fact that the writers were serious about it makes it only worse. I regret every cent put into it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
C20 Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Keegan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2018 14:20:33

I'll be the first to admit that I didn't like Changeling the Dreaming when I came across it the first time. I decided to be a completionist and picked up the Dreaming 2nd edition a few years ago. The game fell flat as I read it and it didn't help that my first experience with Changelings was the Lost. That said I was skeptical regarding Changeling 20th. I decided to pick it up based on the recommendations of a few people and finally cracked it open and started reading. This game is great, the setting is more coherent, the system felt like something I could really get behind, and I fell in love. I personally can't speak to if this captures the original spirit of Changeling when it first came out (apparently, I didn't get it), but if you weren't a fan of the Dreaming I highly recommend checking this game out. I felt instantly inspired for several games within the first two chapters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Justin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2018 14:51:31

I really wanted to love this, but found myself filled with regret. I'll start by saying that I have been a massive Exalted fan since first edition. Third edition was just begging for me to purchase it and I went all out with the premium. So, where do I begin...

The good: Beutiful artwork throughout and the quality of the print on the page for Premium is top-notch! Exalted has also fully embraced their anime inspiration, which shows throughout this volume!

The bad: The system feels like it pulled a lot of inspiration from 4th edition Dungeons and Dragons, which I utterly despise. The new system feels bloated and unneccesary, washing away the fond memories of the 1st and 2nd eds. Sometimes, keeping it more simplified is the way to go. The flavor writing throughout is also abysmally bad.

The ugly: Absolutely horrible craftsmanship. My copy arrived at my door completely detached from the spine and held in place by two thin pieces of paper. The book will remain intact for a month tops with this poor quality of construction. For $120, you would think the printer could attach the pages to the spine with some care. That brings up another problem: the book itself is too large. 662 pages crammed into a single volume is not only user-unfriendly, but also very difficult to keep in any decent condition. This should have been two or three volumes, split into smaller books with better construction.

Final thoughts: I wanted to love this.... I really, really did. But all I feel is regret from my light wallet and poor quality product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
by Keegan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2018 20:09:54

So, I really like how this book is laid out and it really drew me in and sparked some ideas for future games. A large part of this is personal taste, I have always enjoyed sections written in character and enjoy the way this book handles it. Each chapter covers a major meta-plot event with in character transcripts, letters, emails, ect and then followed up with brief overview of the "flashpoint" event, story threads to involve the players, and twists to make sure players could potentially play these events again and it can end up being a completely unique experience.

The last chapter covers how to use metaplot in your chronicles, how much you might want to involve meta-plot, if you want to follow said meta-plot points, and additional suggestions on how to involve players. Which are good for STs who either just throw metaplot in or toss them in as big info dumps (sadly guilty) or avoid them all together because they don't have all the major events (due to the lack of books) or it feels overwhelming.

If you like Vampire, you'll like this book. If you enjoy lore presented in creative ways, you'll like this book. If you don't care for the in-character perspective or just don't want to use the metaplot at all and are dead set against mining these events for ideas, then I guess pass on it. Otherwise grab this book, its spectacular.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Beckett's Jyhad Diary
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2018 16:29:15

I like the basic idea of Exalted, I really do. Because of this I dislike the ruleset even more. Way to cumbersome for fast action and cineastic fights. And it is a joke that in a 600 pages rulebook there is just place for one kind of exalted.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Thousand Years of Night
by Cyrille N. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2018 08:25:08

I read some of Thousand Years of Night from a friend's copy and I just had to get it. It is THE book I have waited for Vampire since Masquerade, it is wonderfully written, engaging and is a pleasure to read while setting the stage for the monolithic Eldritch beings––the Elders came and how they came into being and segues wonderfully into the Eras of Darkness texts as a possible thread of the tangled web of history behind any one Elder.

It does a magnificent job illustrating how truly alien and removed they are from us while making them doubly invested into the affairs of both kine and kindred worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thousand Years of Night
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2018 12:28:09

I love this book. I love this game. I was a playtester for this Second Edition version, in fact. All that said, I appreciate and acknowledge that everyone may not share these feelings. Promethean: the Created offers experiences that run the gamut from extremely personal journeys to over-the-top transhuman craziness, and while my goals tend towards the former, I understand that mileage varies. So, what about the book? I think that it tends towards catering more to that personal side, but it does not negate any other options. I’ll go into more detail below…

The book is a true new edition of the game, with some heavy revisions, big additions, and refinements (not just the ten philosophies of the Created) that shift some of the game’s base assumptions. Much of it is based on focusing and enhancing the experience of the Pilgrimage, the journey towards the New Dawn of becoming truly mortal. You see this right away with the ten Refinements – divided into Basic and Complex, where the former are ‘intuitive’ to follow while the latter require some teacher – and the addition of Roles that are tied to Transmutations that are no longer the one-to-five dot buffet of First Edition, but now nested sets of effects that tie strongly to Roles and their Refinements, all of which are somewhat based on your character’s Elpis and Torment archetypes (think along the lines of Virtue and Vice), but they lead to one of three forms of milestones that add to your Pilgrimage score (kinda like Humanity), leading to Vitriol and the eventual New Dawn.

Does all of that sound complex? Yeah, it kinda is until you play it. At that point, you see just how many OPTIONS this game offers! Getting to that point, though, may prove difficult for some of us. New players may feel that entering the game is a bit like a trial by fire, and even seasoned veterans of Promethean can find the additions and changes jarring. That’s when taken as a whole, but when broken down to the individual character, it’s far more manageable.

There are seven Lineages (adding the Unfleshed and Extempore from First Edition supplements) and a whopping ten Refinements (double the First Edition’s), but each is distinctive and well presented. The chapter on the Promethean experience – what some would call ‘fluff’ – is a wonderful introduction to the perspective of the Created, and it segues well to the chapter on mechanics. Here you’ll find character creation, new Merits, and all fifteen of the Transmutations, as well as mechanics for Azoth and the Pilgrimage. Again, it is a lot, for sure. Again, too, it doesn’t need to scare you off.

The chapter on antagonists isn’t as robust as maybe I’d like, feeling like it only skims over Pandorans and Qashmallim, and the view of the Alchemists focuses more on what they DO than why they’re to feared. What this chapter does, however, is offer more options, which is good.

I’m not a big fan of the ‘location splats’ that have appeared in each of these Second Edition books, but this one has a reasonably good one. Where the book truly shines is the last chapter, on Storytelling, where we find a bunch of great advice on how the game works, what may not work, and ways to let it work without fighting the basic concepts of Promethean.

I could have given this a four-star rating for the steep learning-curve or the added complexities, but I choose to see those as wonderful reminders of how nothing in the Promethean experience is easy, and anything worth having is worth working for. Uh, also just on account of how much I LOVE this game! Five stars, and worth every cent I paid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 07:17:25

I full expected to not enjoy Exalted. I'm mostly a fan of simpler systems, because I'm quite interested in quickly telling interesting stories, and only leaning on the mechanics when it's interesting to fail; I'm not one to enjoy a long slew of fights in most systems, and I thought I was just going to see some anime conflict. But a friend was running, so I got the book.

This book blew me away. I got interested in the setting almost immediately, and the system spoke volumes to me. Although it has a lotof content in it, the game leans on those mechanics to make thing interesting. Even its combat system is, relatively speaking, a breath of fresh air which does a better job of simulating a bustling fight than it does a tactical battlemap. It made me think of Ip Man.

In this book, you get the rules for playing the game, and for making Solars, the most powerful type of Exalt, and the system's flagship splat. It has a host of Martial Arts, some cool Artefacts, and it introduces the entire setting, including giving basic, short, descriptions of what each of the other Exalted are like, and a quick look at how they'll differ.

I browsed through the other reviews to see why some people gave this book such a low rating. They seemed, at a glance, to have two different flavours.

1) This book is too full of stuff. (it's 700+ pages) 2) This book doesn't have particular stuff. (Only one type of Exalt)

I'm going by the law of averages, and saying that if both sides are unhappy, then things could be worse. Too long? They're not fleecing you for three books, this is a PHB, DMG, Setting Guide, and MM all in one! "Only one type of Exalt"? That Exalt has a list of unique abilites ("Charms") that takes up about 200 pages, and would be the equivalent of an entire type of splat in Chronicles/World of Darkness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Doppleganger and Mata-Yadh (Demon)
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 06:33:09

Mata-Yadh is a "Fledgeling Behemoth" a phrase which here means "Pretty damn powerful, but possibly beatable by a starting Circle if they prepare, co-ordinate, and at least all have offensive Excellencies". It's interesting, and I've just realised in the game I'm playing my Circle (of 5 Essence 2 Solars, including a Dawn and an Ebon Shadow Night, but no-one else particularly focused) killed a reskinned version of this (sans rider).

The Doppleganger is a pretty scary, at least insofar as it has the potential to keep up its ruse for at least a conversation with a Solar. They're pretty close to the generic idea people have of them, but this flavour is undead and has a vendetta. It has an Eclipse charm that lets you steal motes.

I'm mostly rating this 5/5 because of Mata-Yadh being a great example of how to make a threat for your Circle that they'll have to work smart and hard to deal with, and because I was pleasantly surprised by the Doppleganger; to be honest, I'm also a bit of a sucker for anything that I can just "yoink" and this includes the Eclipse Charm.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Doppleganger and Mata-Yadh (Demon)
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Aughdeighe and Jungle Stalker
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 06:25:18

Aughdeighe: ice horses who turn up during blizzards. Awesome, would have as set dressing, familiars, or steeds of an oncoming horde. 5/5, they even get their own Eclipse Charm and have some really cool features. Already know these are coming into the game.

Jungle Stalker: weird lizard people with plenty of cool abilities, including an antipathy for magic. Would include in a game with even the slightest excuse. Come with hooks for an ancient history. They're 5/5 for having loads of cool stuff around them, and being interesting enough to stand by themselves next to the Aughdeighe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Aughdeighe and Jungle Stalker
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Adversaries of the Righteous: The Blood Thirsty
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 05:52:01

Fundamentally, I'm here agreeing with the tone in the discussion pieces.

This series of adversaries comes with 4 different sets of stats for mortal pirates, including 2 unique members or affiliates of the bloodthirsty, the stats for a pilot and the person who tells the mooks to line up but isn't the Captain. They're nothing amazing, but the word count is good enough to make them feel useable and important, so if it were just them I'd probably skew towards 3/5, as it's mostly good fluff when I wanted new crunch/fluff hybrids. But then we get to:

It then has a write-up for a Ghost-Blooded captain, who is kinda cool and gets (new) Charms along with artefact armour. For something new, and a cool character, this is 5/5.

On the "Sailing" front, the write-up adds to the setting, and includes a new bonus for ships, and a shiny naval stratagem for added strategery. This would be enough to bump it up from its average of 4/5, but...

The reason it isn't 5/5 is that the write-up makes "heavy reference" to an Exigent (who is the boss of the Bloodthirsty, pretty sure they're the most-mentioned character in the pdf) who is not included. I want this NPC available, and as an Exigent I have no idea what to make of them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adversaries of the Righteous: The Blood Thirsty
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Adversaries of the Righteous: Cynis Borok and Regara Feria
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 05:40:58

Two Dragon-Blooded with full write-ups, their own goals, and tips for dropping them into your campaign.

One, Ragara the admiral, comes with a new artefact weapon and 2 Evocations. 5/5

The other, Cynis the satrap of some failine area, is relatively simple by comparison, with no new bells or whistles. I think he wins 4/5 for being interesting enough to put in, but as he doesn't actually add anything unless you use him, or ideas from him.

That said, they're interesting and highly useable characters, and I'll go for 5/5 overall thanks to that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adversaries of the Righteous: Cynis Borok and Regara Feria
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Eight Tailed Mole Hound and Mahicara, the Volcanic Earthwalker
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 05:15:27

8-Tailed Mole Hounds are burrowing, armoured, and plain strange doggos which make an excellent contribution to the world. I would pick one as my familiar. They do not completely replace dog/wolfs. Much awoo 5/5

Mahicara is a titan who could probably take your Circle. If I were running a game set outside the Blessed Isle, I'd totally consider bringing him in to stomp all over someone's city. On the other hand, I reckon that I'll have to wait. Ah well, worth the money for the awesome thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Eight Tailed Mole Hound and Mahicara, the Volcanic Earthwalker
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Cloud Person & Fang Blossom
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2018 05:06:19

I'm glad I bought this.

Haughty Cloud People, Air Elementals who just wanna talk philosophy, are a pretty cool inclusion. They have a few Charms to cement their archetype as "weird, evasive, and wise" including an offensive Eclipse Charm. They're written so that they look like they can be used in several different ways, and they make quite good inclusions in any game that could use voyeurs from up above with a penchant for astrology.

Fang Blossoms are Audrey IIs. They look like they might even count as a boss encounter if fighting a bunch of PCs at a lower power level than Solars. Against Solars, they're a cool and interesting speedbump, or potential use for a green thumb.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Cloud Person & Fang Blossom
Click to show product description

Add to Guild of Blades Publishing Group Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 941 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG